Clearance Bin Fabrics

8 new fabrics in half yard cuts

I found eight gorgeous fabrics in the clearance bin at Hobby Lobby. They were $1.50 to $2.00 for each half yard. I usually buy fabric in one-yard increments, but money is tight these days. Besides, I’d rather have twice as many fabric choices at the same price. It gives me more variety for my charm piecing projects

Since hexagons are my latest craze, I started looking for fabrics that would do well in that format. A few of these fabrics have some great fussy cutting possibilities. Fussy cutting has never been a concern of mine in the past; I usually just rotary cut fabrics and let the chips fall where they may. But I saw some adorable fussy cut hexagons in the charm hex flickr group started by Texas Freckles, and I decided to give it a try.

new fabrics from Hobby Lobby

My new fabrics have already been washed and ironed, and are ready for cutting. I love scrappy quilts, and my aim is to build up a good collection of layer cakes, charms, and jelly roll strips. What are those, you ask?

  • Layer Cakes 10″ x 10″ squares of fabric
  • Charms: 5″ x 5″ squares
  • Jelly Roll Strips: 2.5″ x 44″ strips (cut the full width of the fabric)

cutting guide

There are also honey buns (1.5″ x 44″ strips of fabric), candy bars (2.5″ x 5″ fabrics), and turnovers (6″ square triangles), but I find that layer cakes, charms, and jelly roll strips are all I really need to do the type of patchwork I enjoy.

So when I buy new fabrics, I go ahead and wash, iron, and cut them. I made myself a cutting guide to help me get the most out of my one-yard and half yard fabric purchases. Click on the image to the right to see a closeup of my cutting guide. I use a rotary cutter, cutting mat, and a Shape Cut Pro Ruler to make the job quick and easy.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Materials and Supplies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Clearance Bin Fabrics

  1. You are very clever with your cutting guide. I also love dots and try to use them where ever I can. Thank you for your very nice comment on my blog post today.

  2. Diane says:

    You are very clever with the cutting guide! I love those dots too and try to use them wherever I can. Thank you for your very nice comment on my blog post today.

  3. Love this cutting guide I’ve never tried to cut my own charms, layers, jelly rolls etc. but this is very helpful!

Leave a Reply

