From Scraps to Hexes

37 hexagons

Here is tonight’s offering of 37 new hexagons. That brings the total to 78. Now. . . only about 1000 more to go. Ha!

Several of the scraps used for these hexagons are from traditional prints I thought I would never use. I think the scrappy look of the hexagon will enable me to sneak in a few traditional prints here and there, but keep the modern feel by using mostly modern fabrics.

Tonight I made one each of the scraps I had on hand. Now I’m wondering how I’ll accumulate enough unique fabrics to get a good variety. I still have two or three dozen fabrics by the yard to cut, but I need a few hundred. Perhaps I’ll host a layer cake swap. Since I am using an odd size hexagon, I need squares measuring 3.25 inches. I found that layer cakes were perfect, giving me nine hexagons with very little waste.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Ongoing Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

