Small Plates Quilt

p. 56 of The Practical Guide to Patchwork by Elizabeth Hartman

fabrics for Small Plates quilt

Planning ahead for my third quilt–one just for me this time–I picked fabrics and started cutting this week. I will use the “Small Plates” pattern found in Elizabeth Hartman’s The Practical Guide to Patchwork. It’s a very modern design that can be made using 5 inch charms and 2.5 inch jelly roll strips–my favorite fabric cuts. Hartman’s finished quilt size measures 68 x 85 inches, but I want to use it on our queen size bed, so I am extending the pattern to 85 x 85 inches.

I chose red, pink, chocolate brown, green, and yellow modern prints–25 in total. I had originally chosen 50 different fabrics, but decided that fewer fabrics would create a more cohesive look but still look very scrappy.

I am so excited to get started on this quilt project. This also means that I’ll have to hurry up and finish Elizabeth’s quilt so I can finally get to one that is just for me.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Ongoing Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

